Replying to Inbox messages via e-mail has long delay.

Jump to solution
PaulNagami
Community Participant

I am an instructor in multiple Canvas courses. When a student sends me an Inbox message on Canvas, I receive it via e-mail. 

If I reply via e-mail, the reply will eventually show up in the message chain in Canvas Inbox. However, this can take many hours. It is unclear when the students are seeing these messages. Refreshing Inbox does not show the sent message. A few hours later, it is a toss-up as to whether the message will show.

Waiting 24 hours will cause the message to appear in my inbox as a reply, but that is far too long a delay on communication with students.

Any clarification would be appreciated--thank you!

EDIT: Example: A student messaged me at 10:19 AM via Canvas Inbox, and the message was forwarded to my e-mail. I replied to the message via e-mail at 10:47 AM. As of 1:44 PM, the reply still had not gone through, and the student sent me another message. However, if the previous patterns hold, when I check my messages tomorrow, it will have gone through then.

Labels (1)
0 Likes
1 Solution
chriscas
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hi @PaulNagami,