Professor Tab Feature in Canvas Admin + Sorting Options

0 Likes

Good day!

I am a teacher assistant who was tasked to keep track of the courses our faculty will handle for the upcoming term so as to make sure the units are equally distributed among them. I am emailing you to propose a new tab and a couple of sorting options to be implemented in the Canvas Admin system so that it would be easier for us who are tasked with this kind of job or other similar tasks to accomplish this faster and more efficiently.

To give a brief description of my own experience, it took me a good number of hours in one week to accomplish this task and although I expected it to be tedious work, what I did not expect was how difficult it would be to cross-check because of how the courses are alphabetically sorted. In any other context, this sorting option would be favorable for some people but for us who need to see that the courses are equally distributed among the faculty, it barely helps; especially when the courses all have the same name but with different sections under different professors. 

Because of this experience and how hectic I found the process, I decided to put this in my recommendations for my task report. At first, I proposed to my unit head that there should be a "sorted by professor" sorting option for these courses so that we can automatically see the courses and their information but after looking at the current options that Canvas Admin has, we both concluded that making a tab that purely contains the faculty members would be most beneficial.