"participation" settings

Jump to solution
KarlijnvanA
Community Participant

As Admin I can set `participation´ in the root account. Picture below is in Dutch, sorry about that, but I hope you will be able to figure out my question 🙂

participation.jpg

Please imagine with me. The participation is set to start on august first 2024 en to end on july 31th of 2025. As a student I can only hand in assigments, participate in the course, in between those dates. For a teacher it's the same: I can't  review assignments after july 31.

1. What if I set the "teacher can participate" ending at september first 2025? Does this mean that Canvas allows them another month to grade assignments?

2. What if I set the 'Students can participate" ending at august 15th? Will students be allowed to hand in assignments until aug 15th? And does this mean the course will remove itself from their dashboard, but will still be available trough past courses? 

If any additional information is needed, please let me know and I'll update the question asap 🙂

Labels (1)
0 Likes
2 Solutions
JamesSekcienski
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hello @KarlijnvanA

If the course settings have the "Participation" set to "Term", then the dates you set in here will control the access for users to participate in the course.  My answers to your questions will assume that your courses are set to use "Term" as the "Participation".

• For question 1, yes if you set a later end date for the Teacher, then teachers will have longer to access and grade assignments.  We use this feature for our courses to give teachers more time for this exact reason.